Connect with us


18 Federal Lawmakers-Elect Get Certificates Of Return Wednesday



Spread the love

The Independent National Electoral Commission will on Wednesday present certificates of return to winners of the just-concluded rerun and bye-elections.

The National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, Sam Olumekun, disclosed this in a statement on Tuesday.

On February 3, 2024, INEC conducted legislative by-elections and re-run in 26 states.

However, re-run elections were suspended in 20 polling units in Akwa-Ibom, Kano, and Enugu states due to irregularities.

According to the statement, seven political parties won seats in both the National and State Houses of Assembly. 

“They are Action Democratic Party, All Progressives Congress, All Progressives Grand Alliance, Labour Party, New Nigeria Peoples Party, Peoples Democratic Party; and the Young Progressive Party,” the statement read.

Giving further details, the commission noted, “certificates of return will be presented to the newly elected Federal lawmakers, comprising three Senators and 15 members of the House of Representatives.

“The presentation is scheduled for tomorrow, Wednesday, February 7, 2024, at 2 pm at the commission’s headquarters in Abuja.

“The presentation of Certificates of Return to the State lawmakers-elect will be conducted by the Resident Electoral Commissioners in the respective states where the bye-elections or re-run elections took place.

“These presentations are to be arranged by the RECs and are expected to be completed by the end of this week. Elected members are encouraged to liaise with the RECs for further details.”

Spread the love

Copyright © 2023 Instant News Naija

× How can I help you?