Connect with us


Yahaya Bello To Unveil New Kogi Monarch



Spread the love

The Kogi Government has Stated its readiness to unveil a new Ohinoyi of Ebiraland out of the 70 contestants screened by a committee to succeed the late Dr Ado Ibrahim.

This was made known by the Secretary of Ebiraland Traditional Council, Alhaja Yunusa Sule, while speaking with newsmen in Lokoja, the state capital on Sunday.

The monarch died on Oct. 29, 2023, after a protracted illness.

“His Royal Highness, Alhaji Isa Musa-Achuja, the Ohi of Eganyi-led committee has finished its assignment by selecting seven qualified persons out of the 70 contestants screened,” he said.

Sule identified the names of the lucky seven as former Deputy Governor of the state, Dr Philip Salawu; former Clerk of the National Assembly, Barrister Ataba Sani Omolori; and Gen. Yusuf Abubakar Amuda.

Others are Mr Momoh Shaibu, Prof. Ibrahim Onuwe Abdulmalik, HRH Dr Ahmad Tijani Anaje, and Mr Ahmed Momoh Jimoh.

“Our state Governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello, will within this week unveil a designate to assume the vacant stool of the Ohinoyi of Ebiraland.

The council secretary explained that the State Governor, Yahaya Bello was appreciative of the work of the kingmakers committee and commended them for a job well done.

“Already, the governor has held a meeting with the qualified seven aspirants recommended by the Kingmakers committee and from whom one would be appointed to take the stool.

“The governor had during the meeting, urged the aspirants to display the spirit of good sportsmanship by supporting whoever is appointed by the government.

“This is because he believes they are all qualified to occupy that stool, but which is meant for just one person,” he said.

He noted that the governor equally admonished them against inciting statements capable of disrupting the peace of the land.

Reports revealed that the number would had been 71, but the 71st person is a female Professor, Angela Oregwu-Okatahi, who by Ebira tradition is not eligible to contest for the stool

The 70 eligible contestants were from four of the five eligible districts in Ebira land, comprising Okewe, Ohema, Erika, Aganiye and Adavi.

However, Adavi was left out since the late Ohinoyi was from there.

The stool of the Ohinoyi of Ebiraland became vacant following the demise of Dr Ado Ibrahim, who passed on at the age of 74 years after a protracted ailment

Spread the love

Copyright © 2023 Instant News Naija

× How can I help you?